Information for patients and families on Clearview's policies regarding COVID-19

(888) 374-1015
Click to call us toll free: (888) 374-1015

Diagnosis and Treatment of Lung Cancer

During a physical exam your healthcare provider may suspect lung cancer based on symptoms or certain risk factors that are present. There are several diagnostic tests your physician may use to determine if cancer is present. These include:

These tests will help determine the type of lung cancer that is present. There are two main types of lung cancer, non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) and small cell lung cancer (SCLC). Non-small cell lung cancer makes up about 85% of all lung cancers. Adenocarcinomas, squamous cell carcinomas, and large cell carcinomas are types of NSCLCs. Both NSCLC and SCLC can be further broken down into stages depending on the location and growth of the cancer cells.

NSCLC can be broken down into four stages

SCLC can be broken down into two stages:

Once your cancer has been diagnosed and classified into a stage, your Clearview cancer physician will discuss your available treatment options. Treatment options will vary for each patient depending on the type and stage of the lung cancer. Your physician may use one or more of the following treatment options: